Papua Merdeka

“Papua Merdeka” a Malay term which literally means “Papua Independence”, which means the independence of West Papua which is now being colonised by Indonesia.

Papua refers to the people or nation of those who live in New Guinea Island. The Isle of New Guinea was previously divided by the British and Dutch colonial powers that ended up the two regions into two different names: Papua New Guinea (or better called East New Guinea) and West Papua, which is the western part of the Island.

“Papua Merdeka” is currently being used across the world as the name for a Free and Independent West Papua.


About melanesianews

Free West Papua is Free Melanesia, News and Information Updates on and from Melanesia
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s